Logo TU Ilmenau

Welcome to the Institute of Media and Communication Science

headerphoto Welcome to the Institute of Media and Communication Science
Contact Person

Kersten Hoppe

Phone +49 3677 69 4696

Send email

You are here



Dear students, alumni, friends and sponsors of IfMK,

(Foto: Kersten Hoppe)

the new semester has started and our daily semester routine is coming back. Therefore, we have assembled a short collection of news, projects, events, publications and conferences we worked on during the last months.

Also there were some changes in the institute’s personnel. Since January 2017, Prof. Martin Löffelholz is the new head of the Institute of Media and Communication Science. He follows Prof. Andreas Will, who led the Institute for three years. As assistant head of the Institute, Prof. Jens Wolling was elected.

Dr. Andreas Schwarz was appointed as the acting chair of the Group for Research in PR and Communication of Technology. We also welcome Irina Tribusean as a new colleague. She works at the Media Studies Group since April.

In addition, IfMK members participated successfully at conferences. Christoph Kuhlmann, for example, has earned the theory prize by the German Association for Publicity and Communication Science (DGPuK) for his habilitation project “Kommunikation als Weltbezug”

In our Alumni Portrait, Yusra Buwayhid writes about her time at IfMK and her current job position at the Deutsche Welle in Bonn.

Enjoy reading!

Prof. Martin Löffelholz, Katrin Jungnickel, Karoline Oelsner & Kersten Hoppe