Logo TU Ilmenau

Photo of the Contact Person
Contact Person

Dr. Jana Göbel

Phone +49 9287 91800614

Send email

You are here


News view

< Previous article


"Ceramic Now": the Faenza Prize is 80 years old

From 30 June to 7 October 2018, a special exhibition, curated by international curators, tells about contemporary ceramic sculpture at the MIC in Faenza.

In 2018, the prize celebrates 80 years and the 60th edition the historic International Competition of Contemporary Ceramic Art, “Faenza Prize”, is the long-lasting and remarkable recognition in the world of ceramic art. Starting from 1938, it became a fundamental event firstly for Italian ceramic Art and then, from 1964, for the international context. In 1989 it became a biennial event. It has been fundamental to allow people to understand that ceramics is not only for functional creations but it is a material for contemporary art. During its life the Faenza Prize has represented the works by great artists such as Lucio Fontana, Leoncillo Leonardi, Angelo Biancini, Guido Gambone, Pietro Melandri, Carlo Zauli,  Eduard Chapallaz, and Sueharu Fukami who determined great changes in the history of sculpture and art in general.

The 60th edition is a great opportunity to create a special event testifying its aim and essence. The 60th Faenza Prize, for the first time of its history, will be a great exhibition supported by international curators responsible for selecting and inviting artists from all over the world.

From 30 June to 7 October 2018 Faenza will house the most significant ceramic art researches created both by international masters and young talents. 17 curators have selected 55 famous artists from all over the world in order to have a wide and complete vision of the ceramic art situation today. Not only sculptures but also installations and performances will characterize this exhibition.

 “The project of this Biennale has been shared by several art critics who have been working for years, taking into consideration international ceramic competitions and exhibitions. The Faenza Prize is known worldwide and has always been an opportunity for sharing art experiences and stimulate the dialogue”, explains Claudia Casali (MIC Director). “To celebrate this unique goal, all the curators decided to carry on a deep reflection on the meaning of ceramic sculpture today. As I underlined several times, in the latest 15 years ceramics have been showing important results, reaching great objectives. The new generation of artists are working on new experimentations, joining the different art media and materials. It is the aspect that we want to enhance through our work, our convictions and activities”.

The exhibition will be flanked by a Congress arranged at MIC by ICMEA, International Association of Editors of Ceramic art, where many artists, curators and journalists will discuss about contemporary ceramics.

Curators of the Biennale: Sandra Benadretti, Luca Bochicchio, Irene Biolchini, Claudia Casali, Monika Gass, Wendy Geers, Grant Gibson, Tomo Hirai, Jacques Kaufmann, Torbjorn Kvasbo, Alessandra Laitempergher, Elaine Henry, Jelena Popovic, Urmas Puhkan, Vittorio Amedeo Sacco, Nathalie Shu-ling Chiang, Marco Tonelli.

Artists taking part to the exibhition: Ruhwald Anders, (DK/USA); Eugenj Antuviev, 1991 (RUS); Salvatore Arancio, 1974 (IT/GB); Neil Brownsword, 1974 (GB); Bertozzi & Casoni, 1957-1961 (IT); Arianna Carossa (IT/USA); Fernando Casasempere, 1958 (CHI/GB); Bruno Ceccobelli, 1952 (IT); Caroline Cheng (CHI); Chang Ching-yuan, 1960 (TAW); Salvatore Cuschera, 1958 (IT/GB); Canan Dagdelen (TUR/A); Giuseppe Ducrot, 1964 (IT); Clementine Dupré, 1978 (F); Efrat Eyal (ISR); Alessandro Gallo, 1974 (IT/USA); Mia E Göransson, 1961 (SWE); Michel Gouery, 1959 (F); Chen Guanghui (CHI); Satoru Hoshino (JAP); Thomas Hirschler, 1965 (D); Tsubasa Kato (JAP); Katrine Køster Holst, (DK); Anna Dorothea Klug, 1984 (D); Liu Jianhua, 1962 (CHI); Luigi Mainolfi, 1948 (IT); Shozo Michikawa (JAP); Johannes Nagel, 1979 (D); Harumi Nakashima, 1950 (JAP); Ngozi Omeje Ezema, (NIG); Pekka Paikkari (FIN); Eva Pelechova, (CEC); Alessandro Pessoli, 1963 (IT/USA); Paolo Polloniato, 1979 (IT); Irina Razumovskaya, 1990 (RUS); Leo Rohlin, 1929 (EST); Annabeth Rosen, 1957 (USA); Kathy Ruttenberg (USA); Kim Sangwoo, 1976 (COR/F); Brendan Lee Satish Tang, 1975 (CAN); Scuotto (IT); Kim Simonsson, 1974 (FIN); Vera Stankovic, (SLO/SER); Sudarshan Shetty (India); Johan Tahon, 1965 (B); Alessio Tasca, 1929 (IT); Johnson Tsang, 1960 (CHI); Antonio Violetta, 1953 (IT); Jiang Yanze (CHI); Hsu Yung-hsu (TAW); Anne Wenzel, (D/NED); Paula Winokur (USA); Velico Zejak, 1980 (SLO); Simon Jozsef Zsolt (HU)

The exhibition has been arranged thanks to the support of Regione Emilia-Romagna, Fondazione Cassa di Risparmio in Ravenna, Fondazione Banca del Monte e Cassa di Risparmio Faenza, Cersaie, Hera e Caviro

And the patronage of: Regione Emilia Romagna, Provincia di Ravenna, Comune di Faenza, Anno Europeo della Cultura, Aic (International Academy of Ceramics), ICOM, 50° Premio Europa Faenza, ICMEA

Tecnical partnership: Officine Saffi

MIC - International Museum of Ceramics in Faenza, Viale Baccarini 19, Faenza (Ra)

  • Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday and holidays 10 am - 7pm
  • Closed on Monday and 15 August
  • Opening of the exhibition: 29 June at 7 pm
  • Admission: 10 Euro, reduced 7 Euro, students 3 Euro