Logo TU Ilmenau


Prof. Sommer: Committee and Panel Collaboration

  • 2007 – 2014: Vice-President of EURO-ASIA Cooperation of Metrological Institutions COOMET
  • 2010 – 2013: Founder and Chair of IMEKO Technical Committee TC 20 Energy Measurement
  • Member oft he Advisory Board of the German Society for Measurement and Automatic Control GMA
  • Chairperson of GMA-Dept. 1 Basics and Methods of Measurement and Automatic Control
  • Member oft he Scientific Advisory Board of the Journal TM Technisches Messen, De Gruyter, Berlin & Munich, Germany
  • Associate Editor of the Journal of Sensor and Sensor Systems JSSS, Copernicus, Goettingen, Germany
  • Member of the permanent Working Group of the University Teachers in Measurement Science AHMT
  • Member of the Science Board of the (German indust.) Association for Sensors and Measurement AMA
  • Member of the Programme Expert Group of the UK Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) for the National Measurement System of UK


  • Woodington Award of the Measurement Science Conference (MSC), Anaheim, CA, 2012
  • Honory Badge of the VDI (Association of German Engineers), 2008
  • Visiting Professor of the China Institute of Metrology, Hangzhou, PR China, 2002