Logo TU Ilmenau

You are here


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Dietzfelbinger


Postal address:

Technische Universität Ilmenau
Fakultät für Informatik und Automatisierung
Fachgebiet Komplexitätstheorie und Effiziente Algorithmen
P.O. Box 100565
98684 Ilmenau


Room 1045
Helmholtzplatz 5 (Zusebau)
98693 Ilmenau

Office hour: Thursday, 17:00 - 18:00 and by appointment (email)


+49 3677 69-2656 or 2655 (secr.)



Research interests: Complexity theory and algorithms

In particular: Design and analysis of randomized data structures and algorithms, hash functions, applications of hashing, sorting, algorithm engineering, complexity of parallel and distributed computation

Short CV

1998-present:   Full Professor at the Department of Computer Science and Automation of Technische Universität Ilmenau
                             Head of Research Group "Complexity Theory and Efficient Algorithms"

1992-1998:       Associate Professor at the Department of Computer Science of Dortmund University

1992:                  Habilitation in Computer Science at Paderborn University with thesis
                            "Universal hashing in sequential, parallel and distributed computing",
                            then University Lecturer at  Paderborn University

1987-1992:        University Assistant at Paderborn University

1987:                   PhD in Computer Science, Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science,
                             University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC)

1983:                   Diplom in Mathematics, Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität München





Sequential and Parallel Algorithms and Data Struchtures: The Basic Toolbox

Algorithms Unplugged  (with Voecking, Alt, Reischuk, Scheideler, Vollmer, Wagner)

Primality Testing in Polynomial Time: From Randomized Algorithms to "PRIMES is in P"



Member of Gesellschaft für Informatik, speaker of special interest group "Algorithmen"

Steering committee of STACS conference series, co-chair

Member of ACM (Distinguished Scientist)

Member of Review Board 409 "Computer Science" of DFG 2012-2016 and 2016-2020

Editorial Board, Acta Informatica

Conference PCs: SOFSEM 2014, MFCS 2014 (co-chair), MFCS 2015, ANALCO 2017, WADS 2017, FCT 2017