Logo TU Ilmenau

Ihre Position



< Fachtagung zu Jugendsexualität und ...


New section “Crisis Communication” at ECREA: TU Ilmenau researcher Andreas Schwarz turns working group into permanent section/division

The former Temporary Working Group Crisis Communication has been transformed into a full section of the European Communication Research and Education Association (ECREA). Among the group’s management team is Andreas Schwarz from the Department of Media Science.

Logo of the New Section

Management team of the Crisis Communication Section at ECREA with (from left to right) Andreas Schwarz (chair), Winni Johansen (vice chair), and Alessandra Mazzei (vice chair) (Photos: Private)

With the approval of the Executive Board of the European Communication Research and Education Association (ECREA) in September 2015, the former Temporary Working Group Crisis Communication will be transformed into a full ECREA section Crisis Communication. This section will start working at the next European Communication Conference held by ECREA in Prague 2016.

The application was submitted by the working group’s management team Andreas Schwarz (chair, TU Ilmenau), Winni Johansen (vice chair, Aarhus University), and Alessandra Mazzei (vice chair, IULM University). The group’s members (approx. 140) and many other international scholars strongly supported the transformation into a full ECREA section.

Establishing a permanent section on Crisis Communication at ECREA is an important step towards the disciplinary institutionalization of this field of inquiry, practice, and teaching.

Crisis Communication has also become an important topic at Ilmenau University of Technology and its Institute of Media and Communication Science in the last 15 years. In particular, the Department of Media Studies chaired by Prof. Martin Löffelholz has been working extensively on the topic in research and teaching.

Further information will be distributed by the Section itself ( and the Ilmenau-based International Research Group on Crisis Communication (