Logo TU Ilmenau

Photo of the Contact Person
Contact Person

Jens Haueisen

Phone +49 3677 69-2860

Send email

You are here


Principal Investigators and Supervisors

Prof. Silvia Comani
Dr. Jeroen Dudink (MD, PhD)
Dr. Patrique Fiedler, PhD
Prof. Jens Haueisen
Jörn M. Horschig (PhD)
Prof. Sabine Van Huffel (PhD)
Prof. Dr. Gunnar Naulaers (MD)
Mr. Gardar Thorvardsson
Prof. Sampsa Vanhatalo
Dr. Frank Zanow, PhD (Product Management)
Prof. Filippo Zapadosi

Silvia Comani is Associate Professor of Applied Physics and Director of the BIND – Behavioral Imaging and Neural Dynamics Center of the Department of Neuroscience, Imaging and Clinic al Sciences at the University “G. d’Annunzio” of Chieti - Pescara (Italy) to which she is affiliated. more


Dr. Jeroen Dudink (MD, PhD) is a neonatologist and Associate Professor neonatal neurology with a PhD in advanced neonatal neuroimaging and a master degree in neuroscience. He has several research collaborations with the Technical Universities on the subject Neonatal Neuromonitoring. He is coordinating the Master students research projects at his department and is co-promotor of several PhD students. The neonatal neurology at the department of Neonatology research group has 10 PhDs and 20 Master students. There are several research collaborations with other departments within the University Hospital (e.g. neurophysiology, neurology, radiology, neuroscience, rehabilitation).

Dr. Patrique Fiedler, PhD, is project manager and product manager at eemagine Medical Imaging Solutions GmbH with a background in electrical engineering and biomedical engineering. Received his MSc and PhD from Ilmenau University of Technology in 2009 and 2017, respectively. His main research interests are on biomedical signal analysis and novel technologies for biopotential electrodes and sensors for multimodal acquisition of physiological and pathological data. He is author and co-author of >20 peer-reviewed journal publications.


Prof. Jens Haueisen (TUIL, PhD, Full Professor in Biomedical Engineering) directs the Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Informatics at TUIL since 2005. He is chair of the study program (Bachelor, Master, PhD) in Biomedical Engineering and member of the Saxon Academy of Sciences. He is a member of internationally highly recognized advisory boards within the academic world of biomedical engineering. He is an expert in numerical computation and measurement of bioelectric and biomagnetic fields and biological signal analysis.


Jörn M. Horschig (PhD) is Software Engineer at Artinis Medical Systems. He studied Knowledge Engineering at Maastricht University and Cognitive Neuroscience at Radboud University Nijmegen and obtained a PhD on electrophysiological investigations in cognitive neuroscience at Radboud University Nijmegen in 2015 (5 first-author, peer-reviewed papers published). He is an electrophysiological data analysis expert and taught courses at graduate- and post-graduate level in light with his contributions to the Matlab toolbox “FieldTrip”.

Prof. Sabine Van Huffel (PhD) is Full Professor in the Electrical Engineering Dept. (ESAT) at KUL, and is head of the biomedical data processing research group BioMed (22 PhD students,6 postdocs) since 2002. She is programme director of the Master of Science program in Biomedical Engineering and honorary doctor from Eindhoven University of Technology. Fellow of IEEE, SIAM, EAMBES and the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Arts and Sciences. Promoter of 80 PhD students (64 defended their PhD), > 900 peer-reviewed publications (> 22000 scholar-google citations, google h-index=71, WoS h-index=46).

Prof. Dr. Gunnar Naulaers (MD): supervisor, Professor in Neonatology, head of the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit since 2007. He is currently PI of the work package NIRS in the European HIP trial (FP7), and coordinated the NeoGuard Project (Funding Flemish Government). He is PhD supervisor, and has >170 peer-reviewed publications (google h-index=35, WoS h-index=25).

Mr. Gardar Thorvardsson (MSc mathematics) CEO and co-founder of Kvikna has 20 years of experience in design and development of software and devices for clinical EEG as well as medical device regulatory processes. Thorvardsson was the director of R&D for Taugagreining hf and director of product innovation for VIASYS Healthcare UK developing Nervus Montor and later NicoletOne Monitor, widely used to monitor EEG in ICU’s and neonatal ICU’s.


Dr. Sampsa Vanhatalo (MD PhD, Prof) is professor in Clinical Neurophysiology and senior consultant Children's hospital, Helsinki University Hospital. He also leads BABA center, a clinical research center dedicated for studies on BAby Brain Activity. He is responsible for training medical specialists in clinical neurophysiology.




Dr. Frank Zanow, PhD (Product Management), is the CEO of eemagine Medical Imaging Solutions GmbH with a background in electrical engineering in the application of advanced MRI based modeling techniques in the analysis of EEG and MEG data, and in the development of new techniques in the analysis of cognitive MEG data.




Filippo Zappasodi is Associate Professor of Applied Physics at the University “G. d’Annunzio” of Chieti-Pescara (Italy). He is manager of high density EEG laboratory at Institute for Advanced Biomedical Technologies ( His main research interests are on biomedical signal processing and multimodal data integration and analysis for human brain mapping (EEG/MEG, TMS, NIRS, transcranial current stimulation). Main fields of research application are: adult neuroscience, motor behavior, plasticity and recovery from neurological damage, brain dynamics and functional connectivity. He is author and co-author of more than 100 scientific articles published in International peer-reviewed scientific journals.

Principal Investigators and Supervisors

Principal Investigators and Supervisors

  • Prof. Manon Benders
  • Dr. Willy Colier
  • Prof. Silvia Comani
  • Dr. Stefan Dekker
  • Dr. Jeroen Dudink
  • Dr. Patrique Fiedler
  • Prof. Jens Haueisen
  • Dr. Jörn Horschig
  • Prof. Sabine Van Huffel
  • Prof. Sascha Klee
  • Prof. Gunnar Naulaers
  • Prof. Thomas P. Runarsson
  • Dr. Nathan Stevenson
  • Mr. Gardar Thorvardsson
  • Dr. Sampsa Vanhatalo
  • Dr. Frank Zanow
  • Prof. Filippo Zappasodi