FKTG Media Prize awarded to two scientists from the TU Ilmenau

Dr. Anna Kruspe and Prof. Karlheinz Brandenburg from TU Ilmenau have received the media award of the Fernseh- und Kinotechnische Gesellschaft FKTG. Every two years, the FKTG awards its medals and prizes to deserving personalities in the media industry.

Preisträgerin Anna Kruspe mit der Ehrenurkunde. FKTG

New award for innovations in the television and media industry

The prize for innovation in the television and media industry was awarded for the first time. Prof. Karlheinz Brandenburg was honored with the new prize for the development of the mp3 audio format. With this, "together with his team of scientists, he revolutionized the world of music listening and access to pieces of music - starting in Germany and spreading throughout the world," according to the laudatory speech. "A true German success story of an FKTG member". Before his retirement last year, Prof. Brandenburg headed the Electronic Media Technology Group at TU Ilmenau and the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT.

Rudolf Urtel Prize for Young Scientists

Anna Kruspe studied media technology at TU Ilmenau and received her PhD from Fraunhofer IDMT. She received the Rudolf Urtel Prize for Young Scientists for her dissertation "Application of Automatic Speech Recognition Technologies to Singing". According to the jury's statement, the FKTG "hereby distinguishes a convincing innovative approach that, through the use and significance of automatic, AI-supported technology, singles out a typical media technology application and opens up new industrial application possibilities for it."

100 years of FKTG

The Fernseh- und Kinotechnische Gesellschaft FKTG turned 100 last year. Founded in 1920 to promote cinema technology, it expanded its field of activity in the 1970s to include television technology. Today, the FKTG sees itself as an association of technical media managers for the German-speaking world. The focal points of its work are the professional exchange of members, further training in film, radio and television and the assessment of new technologies, which in recent years have mainly been IT-based.