http://www.tu-ilmenau.de

Logo TU Ilmenau


Institute of Microelectronics and Nanoelectronics



Photo of the Contact Person
Contact Person

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Ivo W. Rangelow

Head of the institute

Phone +49 3677 69-3718

Send email


You are here

INHALTE

Welcome to the Institute of Microelectronics and Nanoelectronics

Microelectronics deals with miniaturization and integration of electronic circuits. But neither does the IMN MacroNano manufacture nor does it study classical microelectronical products like micro controllers, processors, ASICs or silicon-based memory chips.
Instead it focuses on alternative materials (group III nitrids, LTCC, conductive polymers) and material combinations (e.g. integration of passive components into ceramic carriers materials) as well as on special applications of microelectronical components like mobile and satellite communications or development of polymer-based transistor circuits and solar cells.

Nanoelectronics continue miniaturization to smaller structure widths. This causes completely novel physical effects, mechanisms and interferences to appear as soon as the dimensions of objects - such as width and length of transistor channels or the active area of a sensor element - are reduced to this range.

Departments of the institute

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Ivo W. Rangelow

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralf Sommer

(k) apl. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Susanne Scheinert

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sc. Techn. Heiko O. Jacobs

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Müller

Translation: A. Reum
Please report mistakes to: alexander.reum@tu-ilmenau.de

http://www.tu-ilmenau.de

Logo TU Ilmenau


Institut für Mikro- und Nanoelektronik



Ansprechpartner

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Ivo W. Rangelow

Institutsdirektor

Telefon +49 3677 69-3718

E-Mail senden


Ihre Position

INHALTE

Willkommen am Institut für Mikro- und Nano-Elektronik

Die Mikroelektronik befasst sich mit der Miniaturisierung und der Integration elektronischer Schaltungen. Klassische Produkte der Mikroelektronik wie Mikrocontroller und Prozessoren, ASICs oder Speicher aus Silicium werden am IMN MacroNano jedoch weder gefertigt noch untersucht.
Im Fokus stehen vielmehr alternative Materialien (Gruppe III-Nitride, LTCC, leitfähige Polymere) und Materialkombinationen (z.B. Integration passiver Bauelemente in Keramikträgermaterialien) sowie spezielle Anwendungsfelder mikroelektronischer Bauelemente, wie der Mobilfunk, die Satellitenkommunikation oder die Entwicklung von Transistorschaltungen oder Solarzellen auf der Basis von Polymeren.
Die Nanoelektronik führt nicht nur die Mikroelektronik hin zu kleineren Strukturbreiten fort.
Vielmehr treten völlig neuartige physikalische Effekte, Wirkmechanismen oder Störeffekte auf, sobald die Abmessungen von Objekten - etwa die Kanal-Länge und Breite eines Transistors oder die aktive Fläche eines Sensorelements - bis auf diesen Bereich reduziert.

Fachgebiete des Institutes

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Ivo W. Rangelow

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralf Sommer

(k) apl. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Susanne Scheinert

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sc. Techn. Heiko O. Jacobs

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Müller