News from the group

You can find all current news here.

New software

BB-MOQIP is a solver for multiobjective quadratic integer problems and can now be downloaded from GitHub.

MOMIX is a solver for Multiobjective Mixed Integer Convex Optimization and can now be downloaded from GitHub .

Book highly cited

The book Adaptive Scalarization Methods in Multiobjective Optimization, Springer, 2008, ISBN:  978-3-540-79157-7, by Gabriele Eichfelder is an example for highly cited Operations Research Springer books, see minute 6:40 in the Springer Webinar.

Organizing Committee

Gabriele Eichfelder is a member of the Organizing Committee of the SIAM Conference on Optimization (OP21), July 20-23th, 2021, happening virtually in Spokane Washington, July, 20-23, 2021.

JOTA Area Editor

Gabriele Eichfelder is now one of the eight area editors of the  Journal of Optimization Theory and Applications

G. Eichfelder

Group for Mathematical Methods in Operations Research

The Group for Mathematical Methods in Operations Research is headed by Prof. Gabriele Eichfelder. In her team two employees holding a doctoral degree and three PhD students are currently working on a variety of different topics in the field of mathematical optimization, such as a numerical method for set optimization or on robust multiobjective optimization for the integration of intelligent neighbourhood networks into interconnected networks. The team members can be found here.

Research

The Group for Mathematical Methods of Operations Research investigates mathematical programming problems theoretically as well as numerically. The focus is on continuous optimization problems, but also mixed-integer nonlinear problems are studied. The research topics are often motivated by problems from the engineering sciences or from work on industrial projects.

The main research topics are currently the theory of vector and set optimization, numerical methods for vector and set optimization, and thus also of multiobjective optimization, global optimization such as mixed-integer optimization, and optimization problems in applications. Further Information

TU Ilmenau
TU Ilmenau

Teaching

We offer students a profound and broad education in the field of continuous optimization. This includes introductory courses on the basics of optimization for both students of mathematics as well as students of engineering or computer science, as well as a broad range of advanced and in-depth courses. These cover both more theoretical topics like optimization in infinite-dimensional vector spaces and more numerical topics like algorithmic methods of optimization.

In addition, we offer lectures on the basics of mathematics for business and engineering courses. For us, a high quality of teaching is important, which spans the arc from theoretical principles and scientific approaches to practical application. Further information

Neues aus dem Fachgebiet

Alle aktuelle Meldungen finden Sie hier.

Neue Software

BB-MOQIP zum Lösen von multikriteriellen Optimierungsproblemen mit ganzzahligen Variablen und strikt konvexen quadratischen Zielfunktionen nun in GitHub eingestellt.

MOMIX zum Lösen gemischt-ganzzahliger konvexer multikriterieller Optimierungsprobleme nun in GitHub eingestellt.

   

EURO Conference Athen

Logo EURO 2021

Gabriele Eichfelder ist im Programm-Kommittee der EUROXXXI in Athen im Juli 2021.

Organsiations-Komitee

Gabriele Eichfelder ist Mitglied des Organisations-Komitees der SIAM Conference on Optimization (OP21) im Juli 2021 (Online)

JOTA Area Editorin

Gabriele Eichfelder ist seit 2021 eine der acht Area Editoren für das Journal of Optimization Theory and Applications

G. Eichfelder

Team des Fachgebiets Mathematische Methoden des Operations Research

Das Fachgebiet Mathematische Methoden des Operations Research wird von Frau Prof. Gabriele Eichfelder geleitet. Im Team des Fachgebiets arbeiten zur Zeit zwei promovierte Wissenschaftler und drei Doktoranden an einer Vielzahl verschiedener Themen aus dem Bereich der mathematischen Optimierung, wie an einem numerischen Verfahren zur Mengenoptimierung oder der robusten Mehrzieloptimierung zur Integration von intelligenten Quartiersnetzen in Verbundnetze.  Weitere Informationen

Forschung

Das Team des Fachgebiets Mathematische Methoden des Operations Research befasst sich mit der theoretischen und numerischen Untersuchung von Optimierungsproblemen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf kontinuierlichen Optimierungsproblemen, aber auch gemischt-ganzzahlige nichtlineare Probleme sind Gegenstand der Untersuchungen. Die Forschungsthemen werden dabei oft durch Fragestellungen aus den Ingenieurwissenschaften motiviert oder in Industrieprojekten bearbeitet.

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte sind dabei die Theorie der Vektor- und Mengenoptimierung, Numerische Verfahren der Vektor- und Mengenoptimierung und damit auch der Multikriteriellen Optimierung, Globale Optimierung wie gemischt-ganzzahlige Optimierung, sowie Optimierungsprobleme in Anwendungen. Weitere Informationen

TU Ilmenau
TU Ilmenau

Lehre

Wir bieten Studentinnen und Studenten eine fundierte und breite Ausbildung im Bereich der kontinuierlichen Optimierung. Dies umfasst einführende Veranstaltungen in die Grundlagen der Optimierung sowohl für die Mathematikstudiengänge als auch für Studiengänge im Bereich der Ingenieurwissenschaften oder der Informatik, bis hin zu einem breiten Angebot in weiterführenden und vertiefenden Vorlesungen. Diese behandeln sowohl eher theoretische Themen wie Optimierung in unendlich dimensionalen Vektorräumen als auch eher numerische Themen wie algorithmische Verfahren der Optimierung.

Zusätzlich bieten wir Vorlesungen im Grundlagenbereich der Mathematik für Wirtschafts- und Ingenieurstudiengänge an. Dabei legen wir Wert auf eine qualitativ hochwertige Lehre, die den Bogen von theoretischen Grundlagen und wissenschaftlicher Herangehensweise zu praktischer Anwendbarkeit spannt. Weitere Informationen