http://www.tu-ilmenau.de

Logo TU Ilmenau


Research Group Automata and Logics


headerphoto Research Group Automata and Logics
Contact Person

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dietrich Kuske

Phone +49 3677 69-1444

Send email

You are here
  • Research Group Automata and Logics

INHALTE

Research Group Automata and Logics

Welcome to the research group "Automata and Logik"

(until 2014 research group Theoretical Computer Science)

Part of the Institute for Theoretical Computer Science of the Faculty of Computer Science and Automation.

The main research focus of the research group "Automata and Logics" lies in the areas of automatic verification of distributed systems and automatic structures. Our studies particularly utilize methods from logic and automata theory and therefore belong to the wider field of logic in computer science. 

In the research area of automatic verification we try to find a balance between the expressive power of specification languages and their algorithmic complexity. In this connection, theoretical results concerning distributed models with finitely many internal states are analyzed regarding their practical relevance, adapted and extended. This research work is in undertaken in close contact with researchers in Paris and Bordeaux. 

Besides the above mentioned systems, one is also interested in the verification of those with infinitely many internal states (which can occur due to stacks or string variables). Automatic structures are an abstract model of such systems. We investigate these structures in terms of algorithmic aspects (Which problems are solvable and which resources are necessary?) as well as abstract properties (What model theoretic properties do these structures exhibit?). Regarding these questions, we cooperate with colleagues in Siegen and Auckland.

Willkommen im Fachgebiet Automaten und Logik

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Fachgebiets Automaten und Logik liegen in den Bereichen Methoden der automatischen Verifikation verteilter Systeme und automatische Strukturen. Diese Untersuchungen verwenden insbesondere Methoden der Logik und der Automatentheorie und gehören daher zum umfassenderen Gebiet der Logik in der Informatik. 

In der automatischen Verifikation versuchen wir einen Kompromiss zwischen der Ausdrucksstärke von Spezifikationssprachen und ihrer algorithmischen Beherrschbarkeit zu finden. Dabei werden kürzlich gewonnene theoretische Erkenntnisse zu verteilten Modellen mit endlich vielen internen Zuständen auch auf ihre praktische Relevanz hin untersucht, angepasst und erweitert.

Neben diesen Systemen ist auch die Verifikation von solchen mit unendlich vielen internen Zuständen (die z. B. durch stacks oder string-Variablen auftreten können) von Interesse. Ein abstraktes Modell dieser Systeme sind automatische Strukturen. Wir untersuchen diese Strukturen von der algorithmischen (Welche Fragen sind mit welchem Aufwand lösbar?)  und von der abstrakten Seite (Welche modelltheoretischen Eigenschaften zeichnen diese Strukturen aus?)