Inauguration of the President of the TU Ilmenau

Calendar page icon
We. 31.03.2021
Calendar page icon
Pin icon
Person icon
Target group
Universitätsmitglieder und Interessierte
Check icon
for event

In December 2020, the University Assembly of the TU Ilmenau elected Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kai-Uwe Sattler as President of the University for a term of six years. The handover of the certificate of appointment by the Thuringian Minister for Economy, Science and Digital Society took place in February of this year. Also in February 2021, the Senate elected the three vice presidents for a term of three years. The inauguration of the new president with the presentation of the new Presidential Board will take place on Wednesday, 31 March 2021, 3:00 pm, at TU Ilmenau. At the same time, the long-time Rector, Univ.-Prof. Peter Scharff, will be thanked for his work.

A panel discussion on the topic "The University after Corona - back to normality or chance for change?" will focus on university teaching and research and the future development of the TU Ilmenau. Due to the current situation, the inauguration will be broadcast as an online event on the youtube channel of the TU Ilmenau (supported by the Forschungsgemeinschaft elektronische Medien e. V.)




Musical opening

Award of the dignity of honorary senator of the TU Ilmenau to Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Dr. h. c. mult. Prof. h. c. mult. Peter Scharff

Musical interlude

Inauguration of the new president of the TU Ilmenau, Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Kai-Uwe Sattler

Introduction of the new members of the Presidential Board

  • Prof. Dr. Anja Geigenmüller, Vice President for Teaching and Learning
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Sinzinger, Vice President for Research and Young Scientists
  • Prof. Dr. Jens Müller, Vice President for International Affairs and Transfer
  • Dennys Klein, Chancellor

Panel discussion on "The University after Corona - back to normality or a chance for change?" | Moderation: Dr. Kristin Lenk

Discussion partners:

  • Prof. Kai-Uwe Sattler, President of the TU Ilmenau
  • Prof. Jens Strackeljan, Rector of Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg, Member of the University Council of TU Ilmenau (video link)
  • Dr. Daniel Schultheiß, Lord Mayor of the City of Ilmenau
  • Dr. Meike Hofmann, research assistant at the Department of Technical Optics at the TU Ilmenau
  • Michelle Storandt, student representative of the TU Ilmenau

Musical finale