Superordinate structures of research at the TU Ilmenau

Interdisciplinary cooperation

The TU Ilmenau has 6 Inter-departmental Institutes, each of which represents an amalgamation of several disciplines with a common orientation in their research activities and the associated research questions. The aims of the institutes are a particularly close exchange of research results, the bundling of competences and a strategically coordinated cooperation in research projects.

Inter-departmental Institutes:
TU Ilmenau
TU Ilmenau

Synergies lead to innovations

The technological centres are structural units of the university, which include special technical equipment, large scientific devices and large laboratory facilities and are available to our scientists. Responsible for the management of the centres are mostly the cross-faculty institutes of TU Ilmenau. The operation of the technological centres is borne by the University's budgetary resources.

Technological Centers: