The TU Ilmenau in the heart of Thuringia

Short profile

  • Country: Germany
  • Capital: Erfurt
  • Number of inhabitants: 2,134,393 (as of 30.09.2019)
  • Population per km²: 132 (as of 2019)
  • 17 administrative districts and 6 independent cities
  • Prime Minister: Bodo Ramelow

More information about Thuringia

Cities in Thuringia

Thuringia is characterised by numerous historically relevant and culturally valuable places and cities. Whether you want to go on a little shopping trip, plan a city tour with a visit to a museum or simply stroll through small alleys and winding streets. There is always something new to discover.

A small tip: As a student in Ilmenau, you can use all regional train connections in Thuringia free of charge and thus explore the Thuringian cities quickly and easily.

8 regions in Thuringia

Thuringia is divided into eight regions:

  • Eichsfeld
  • Harz
  • World Heritage Region Wartburg Hainich
  • Kyffhäuser
  • Thuringian Rhön
  • Saaleland
  • Thuringian Forest
  • Thuringian Vogtland

Each of these regions is individually characterised by castles, gorges, wide meadows and forests, viewing platforms, water bodies and beautiful views. This diversity and variety guarantees surprises and invites you to discover.

Active in Thuringia

Thuringia is a true paradise for outdoor athletes. Whether hiking on the Rennsteig, water hiking on the Saale, climbing on the Blauer Stein, skiing in Oberhof or cycling along the Thuringian chain of towns - here you will find something to do at any time of the year!