Photo by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Sattel

Research focus

  • Energy conversion systems
  • Actuator and drive technology
  • Piezo technology, magnet technology, magneto- and electrorheological fluid technology
  • Vibration technology and machine dynamics
  • Dynamics and control of structural-mechanical and mechatronic systems
  • Applications: Precision engineering, medical engineering, manufacturing engineering, production engineering, micro/nanotechnology, automotive engineering, power engineering, robotics.

Scientific career

since 06/2008University Professor for Mechatronics, Technische Universität Ilmenau, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Chair of Mechatronics
07/2004 – 05/2008Junior Professor for Mechatronics, Heinz Nixdorf Institute, University of Paderborn
09/2005 – 12/2005Visiting Scholar, Stanford University, Center for Design Research
07/2001 – 05/2005Scientific consultant and external project manager, Hilti AG
07/2001 – 06/2004University Lecturer and Research Associate, Heinz Nixdorf Institute, University of Paderborn, Department of Mechatronics and Dynamics
05/1997 – 06/2001Research Assistant, TU Darmstadt, Institute of Mechanics, Dynamics Group, Prof. Dr. Peter Hagedorn, PhD 06/2002: "Dynamics of Ultrasonic Motors"
12/1995 – 04/1997PhD student, TU Darmstadt, Institute of Mechanics, Topic: Biomechanics of the inner ear
10/1994 – 07/1996Study of Mathematics, TU Darmstadt, Degree: Vordiplom
10/1991 – 10/1995Studies of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics, TU Darmstadt, Degree: Diploma

Reviewer activity

  • DFG
  • Journal of Sound and Vibration
  • Journal of Mechatronics
  • Int. J. Vehicle Autonomous Systems
  • IEEE Transactions on Control System Technology
  • Journal of Vibration and Control
  • Journal of Smart Materials and Structures

Calls or offers from other universities

04/2012University of Siegen, Chair of Dynamic Systems in Automotive Engineering
05/2008TU Chemnitz, Chair of Structural Dynamics, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
03/2008University of British Columbia, Canada, Assistant Professor with shortened tenure track (2 years) to Associate Professor, nomination as Canadian Research Chair (Tier 2)

Fellowships, Grants, Awards

01/2017 – 07/2017Invited Erskine-Visiting-Fellow, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
10/2009Medical Technology Innovation Award of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research in the context of the 2009 Medical Technology Innovation Competition, together with Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Martin Ptok, Hanover Medical School
06/2007 – 03/2008Junior-Professional-Management Program 2007
Center for Science Management e.V. Speyer
Sponsor: BASF AG
04/2005SAE 2005 World Congress Recognition for substantial contribution to the Technical Program, by the Electric and Electronic System Committee, Society of Automotive Engineers.
Together with Dipl.-Ing. Thorsten Brandt, University of Paderborn (now Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thorsten Brandt, University of Applied Sciences Rhein-Waal)
2005Heinrich-Hertz scholarship for a research stay at Stanford University
2003Research Award 2003 of the University of Paderborn
1996Doctoral Scholarship of the State of Hesse
Biomechanics of the Inner Ear
07/1994International Design Contest in Tokyo, Sponsor NEC
Participants: MIT, U Cambridge, U Sao Paulo, U Seoul, TITECH, TU Darmstadt
04/1993 – 07/1993National Design Contest at TU Darmstadt
Qualification for the International Design Contest, Robotics
1993 – 1995Study Foundation of the German People