The Technische Universität Ilmenau awards the following prizes to persons who have rendered outstanding services to the university:

Chris Liebold

Honorary Doctorate

As an award for outstanding scientific and/or other creative intellectual achievements, the TU Ilmenau confers honorary doctorates on scientists and deserving personalities in public life and business.

The following persons have received honorary doctorates from the TU Ilmenau:

Honorary Member

In recognition of extraordinary merits and achievements that serve the development of the university and thus express the close and lasting connection to the university, the TU Ilmenau awards the dignity of honorary member. As a rule, it is not awarded to members of the University.

Max Gerard

Eleonora Hamburg

University Medal

In recognition of special services to the TU Ilmenau as a whole or to parts of the university, the TU Ilmenau awards the university medal to internal and external personalities. In the case of members of the university, this must go considerably beyond the fulfilment of their service or study obligations.

Honorary Senator

The TU Ilmenau confers the title of Honorary Senator on personalities who have repeatedly rendered outstanding and unselfish service to the university and the general public in an outstanding manner. The Honorary Senators form the Honorary Senate.

TU Ilmenau