Highly efficient photoelectrochemical (PEC) water decomposition is recognized as a viable and environmentally friendly method for energy conversion. Tandem nanostructures obtained by fabrication methods such as templating can effectively address the challenges of cost, efficiency and availability. For example, Ni/ZnO/TiO2 photovoltaic electrodes enriched with oxygen vacancies were obtained by electrostatic adsorption and vacuum thermal evaporation preparation methods. This method utilizes surface plasmon resonance (SPR), which improves solar light utilization by enhancing the separation of photogenerated carriers and facilitating rapid surface charge transfer (Ultrathin Metal Ni Layer on ZnO/TiO2 Photoelectrodes with Excellent Photoelectrochemical Performance in Multiple Electrolyte Solutions, Fuel 2023, 351, 128774). In addition, recent research advances in tandem nanostructures for PEC water decomposition are summarized and the future of the field is envisioned (Tandem Nanostructures: A Prospective Platform for Photoelectrochemical Water Splitting, Solar RRL 2022, 6, 2200181).

Photocatalysis has also emerged as a viable system for solar energy collection, conversion and storage. The structure, chemical environment, optical and electrical properties of sulfur species in photocatalysis are essential to gain insight into atomic interfaces with low charge transfer resistance and to enhance photocatalytic performance. For example, Au nanorods@MoS2-CdS ternary mixtures have solved difficult problems related to NIR transitions, transfer pathways, and active sites (Broadened Photocatalytic Capability to Near-infrared for CdS Hybrids and Positioning Hydrogen Evolution Sites,Appl. Catal. B 2023, 325, 122327). In addition, a review systematically describes atomic interfaces in sulfur compounds designed for photocatalytic applications, highlighting significant advances in the field (Designing Atomic Interfaces in Chalcogenides for Boosting Photocatalysis, Solar RRL 2023, 7, 2300025). This paper was inducted into Solar RRL's "Hall of Fame" series.