History of the Advanced Electromagnetics Group

The beginnings of our group can be dated to the year 1956. In this year Prof. Dr. Eugen Philippow founded the Institute for General and Theoretical Electrical Engineering with the departments General Electrical Engineering, Theoretical Electrical Engineering and Electrical Measurement. Only three years later, analyses of the development of science carried out by him provided the justification for the necessity of introducing training for students in the field of Theoretical Electrical Engineering. Finally, after another 9 years, i.e. in 1968, with the integration of the groups into the Section for Information Technology and Theoretical Electrical Engineering (INTET), the leadership of our group went to Prof. Dr. Friedrich Herrmann Uhlmann on a provisional basis. 24 years later, Prof. Uhlmann first became head of the Group of Electromagnetic Fields, before he also became head of the Institute of General and Theoretical Electrical Engineering in 1993. After the reunification of Germany, the Institute of General and Theoretical Electrical Engineering was founded again with the Group of Theoretical and Experimental Electrical Engineering and the Groups of Theoretical Electrical Engineering and Electromagnetic Fields.

In the course of the restructuring of the Departement of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, the Institute of Information Technology was founded in 2005, which is home to our group and six other groups.

After the retirement of Prof. Uhlmann in 2007, the provisional leadership of our group went to Dr. Gernot Scheinert and Dr. Hartmut Brauer for two years, before Hannes Töpfer was appointed university professor and head of our department on July 1, 2009.

Apart from the Institute of Information Technology, our group is also integrated into the inter-departement Institute of Micro- and Nanotechnologies IMN MacroNano®.