View into the senate hall during a meeting of the scientific advisory board Media TU Ilmenau | Eckhardt Schön
Meeting of the Scientific advisory board Media in the Senate Hall of the University 2010


The Scientific Advisory Board Media of the Technische Universität Ilmenau is a body of experts from politics, science and the media industry, which advises the university on questions concerning the design of media courses and initiates research cooperations. It usually meets twice a year.

The advisory board was founded in 1997 in connection with the establishment of the media degree programmes and has worked continuously with the media institutes and the university ever since.

From 2000 to 2016, the advisory board awarded the Ilmenau Media Prize. It was awarded six times during this period. The prize was initially called im@p and has been called Gläserner JOHAHN since 2013.

Tasks of the Advisory Board

The main tasks of the Media Advisory Board are:

  • to sharpen the educational profiles of the various media degree programmes by designing the teaching and training content in a practice-oriented manner,

  • to act as a bridge between students/graduates and companies in arranging internships, project work and final theses, or in taking on graduates,

  • to support the foundation and settlement of media companies in the vicinity of the TU Ilmenau,

  • to cooperate with the university on fundamental questions of innovation in the field of media.



Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alexander Raake



The following persons are currently members of the Scientific Advisory Board Media of the TU Ilmenau:

  • Dipl.-Ing. Maximilian Below, Studio Hamburg MCI GmbH (Geschäftsführer/ Managing Director) - Vorsitzender des Medienbeirates
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.rer.nat. h.c. Karlheinz Brandenburg, Brandenburg Labs GmbH (Geschäftsführer)
  • Ralf Bundrock, MCS Thüringen (Geschäftsführung)
  • Dipl.-Ing. Jürgen Burghardt, Fernseh- und Kinotechnische Gesellschaft (Geschäftsführer)
  • Johannes Claes, ZDF Mainz (Geschäftsbereichtsleiter Informations- und Systemtechnologie; CIO)
  • Jochen Fasco, Thüringer Landesmedienanstalt (Direktor)
  • Alexander Gehlert, GoTo Technologies Germany GmbH (Senior Manager, RTC Video Group)
  • Dr. Andreas Gladisch, Telekom (Technology Innovation)
  • Markus Greiter, BFE Studio und Medien Systeme GmbH (Managing Director)
  • Dr. Heiko Kieser, TechnoDigital Technologies GmbH (Geschäftsführer)
  • Philipp Lawo, Lawo AG (Vorstandsvorsitzender)
  • Dr. Ulrich Liebenow, Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk (Betriebsdirektor)
  • Boris Lochthofen, MDR-Landesfunkhauses Thüringen (Direktor)
  • Dr.-Ing. Jan Röder, VST GmbH (Geschäftsführer)
  • Dr. Johannes Steurer, ARRI AG (Senior Principal Future Technologies)
  • M. A. Jeffrey Stroessner, Lawo AG (Director Global Events)
  • Michael Tallai, FUNKE Thüringen Verlag GmbH (Geschäftsführer)
  • Hans-Peter Urban, Peter Urban Media Consult

As a rule, the President of the University and various professors from the media institutes also take part in the meetings.