Institutes and Groups of the Department of Computer Science

Institute for Automation and Systems Engineering

Fields of expertise:

Automation Technology (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Yuri Shardt)


Process Optimization (Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Pu Li)


Control Engineering (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann Reger)


Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Computer Science

Fields of Expertise:

Biomedical Engineering (Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Jens Haueisen)


Biosignal Processing (Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Peter Husar)


Data analysis in the life sciences (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Patrique Fiedler (JP))


Multimodal data analysis in biomedical engineering (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Silvio Dutz)


Optoelectrophysiological Engineering (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sascha Klee)


Medical Informatics (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sylvia Saalfeld)

Institute of Computer Engineering and Engineering Informatics

Fields of Expertise:

Computer Architecture and Embedded Systems (Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Daniel Ziener)


Neuroinformatics and Cognitive Robotics Lab (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Horst-Michael Groß)


Integrated Communication Systems (Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Andreas Mitschele-Thiel)


Development of Systems for the Internet-of-Things (IoT Engineering) (Prof. Dr. Florian Klingler (JP))


Systems and Software Engineering (Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Armin Zimmermann)


Artificial Intelligence (apl. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Rainer Knauf)


Institute for Theoretical Computer Science

Fields of Expertise:

Algorithmics (Prof. Dr. Christoph Berkholz)


Automata and Logic (Prof. Dr. Dietrich Kuske)


Institute for Practical Computer Science and Media Informatics

Fields of Expertise:

Computer Graphics (Prof. Dr. sc. techn. Beat D. Brüderlin, retired)


Telematics/Computer Networks (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter Schäfer)


Databases and Information Systems (Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Kai-Uwe Sattler)


Distributed and Operating Systems (Prof. Dr. Boris Koldehofe)


Data-intensive Systems and Visualization Group (dAI.SY) (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Patrick Mäder)


Computer Science for Engineers Teaching Group

Head of the teaching group: Dr.-Ing. Detlef Streitferdt

Honorary professorships and second memberships